Over the last few years, authorities in Virginia have started to crack down on drunk driving. Unlike other states, in Virginia, there is no difference between driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI). This means that DUI and DWI are interchangeable.
What is the law?
When it comes to determining if you have been driving under the influence of alcohol blood alcohol concentration or BAC is looked at. The legal limit of BAC in Virginia is .08 percent for those that 21 years old or older.
Fines and Penalties
Penalties for DUIs vary depending on the number of previous offenses, how much time has passed and BAC levels.
For first time offenders, several different penalties can be enforced. This can include:
- License suspension for seven days or restricted altogether
- Fines that range from $250 to $300
- Possible Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP)
- Criminal record
Second-time offender penalties can include:
- License suspension for 60 days, or restricted license
- Minimum $500 fine
- If within less than five years of first offense, then a mandatory one month in jail can be enforced
- If within 5 to 10 years of first offense, a mandatory ten days minimum in jail
- Criminal record
Third-time offenders can face similar penalties for second-time offenders.
- License suspended until trail
- $1,000 minimum fine
- Within five years, could face six months in jail
- If within ten years, then a mandatory 90 days in prison could be enforced
- Felony charge
Fourth-time offenders will undergo the same time penalties and fines that third-time offenders will face. With several small changes, which includes license revoked for an indefinite amount of time, and a minimum of 1 year in jail.
Effects on Car Insurance
If you are convicted of a DUI, you will discover that your insurance cost has skyrocketed. Insurance providers classify all DUIs drivers as being high-risk drivers. Getting a DUI could result in your policy being canceled or not renewed. If this happens, you will have to find a different insurance agency, which can be involved with a DUI conviction on file.
Getting an Attorney
Getting a defense attorney could help you reduce or even beat your DUI charges. The attorney will investigate your case and then build a solid defense case around the evidence they have obtained.
I do offer consultation to those having these issues. So, contact me for any help.